Saturday, October 30, 2010

The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success

During October 2010, Spirit Quest met on Wednesday, the 13th and again on the 27th. During these two meetings, we discussed the teachings of Deepak Chopra as presented in his best-selling book The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success. Sharon Parris-Chambers facilitated both meetings.

In his book, Dr. Chopra says that success in life includes not only material success but also good health, energy and enthusiasm for life, fulfilling relationships, creative freedom, emotional and psychological stability, a sense of well-being, and peace of mind. He cautions, however, that even if we achieve success in all of these areas of life, we may still remain unfulfilled unless we also nurture the divinity within us. This is so because, in reality, we are divine beings who have disguised ourselves as human beings.

These, then, are the seven laws of success which Dr. Chopra describes in his book:

1) The Law of Pure Potentiality
When you discover that you are, in fact, a divine being, you are finally able to fulfill any dream you may have. As a divine being, you have unlimited potential. There are many ways to access your pure potentiality. They include meditation, silence, spending time in nature and practicing non-judgment.

2) The Law of Giving
The more you give, the more you will receive. The best way to put the Law of Giving into operation is to give something to everyone you meet. That may be, for example, a compliment or attention, affection, appreciation and love.

3) The Law of Karma (or Cause and Effect)
You have heard the expression, "What you sow is what you reap." If you want, for example, to create happiness in your life, then you should sow the seeds of happiness in the lives of others. To effectively use the Law of Karma, you need to understand that you create your future by the choices you make in the present moment.

4) The Law of Least Effort
This law is also known as the principle of economy of effort. It enables you to "do less but accomplish more." Ultimately, you can reach a point where you do nothing and accomplish everything. Your actions require the least amount of effort when they are motivated by love, rather than greed or power.

5) The Law of Intention and Desire
This law enables you to manifest what you want in life. The only caution is that your intent be for the higher good of yourself and all of mankind.

6) The Law of Detachment
This law says: In order to acquire anything in the physical universe, you have to relinquish your attachment to it. This doesn't mean you give up your intentions and desires. Rather, it means you give up your obsessive attachment to what you want. You can acquire anything you want through detachment, because detachment is based on the unquestioning belief in the power of your true Self.

7) The Law of "Dharma" or Purpose in Life
Dharma is a Sanskrit word meaning "purpose in life." The Law of Dharma says that you have incarnated in physical form to fulfill a purpose. When you use your unique talents in service to the needs of humanity, you are applying the Law of Dharma.

1 comment:

  1. This is one of my most cherished books next to The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran. Use it as a workbook, studying 1 chapter per month, practice the commitments and meditation and watch your life begin to change. But first you must give yourself permission to succeed.

    Sharon Parris-Chambers